Skip to content

I’m Back Blogging… with a New Toque

April 1, 2012

I recently got an email that included an encouraging “update your blog, already, sheesh.”  (Thanks Janet!  It is nice to know someone has been missing my posts!)   I’m sorry dear fans friends and family.  Sending my short lens away for repairs really affected my blogging abilities.  But I finally  got it back on Friday.  So I promise I will get back into keeping you updated on all the exciting details of my life. ;)  Or at least some of the birdy, bakey, crafty details.

That said, I took the photos here with my new iPhone!  I never expected to become one of those crazy smartphone people, but it was a too good to be missed deal, with the phone for free and a way better plan than my old one for only $2/month more.   I’m super excited about getting the Sibley eGuide to Birds app.  And I may have bought a White-throated sparrow call for my ringtone.  ;)  (I wanted a Swainson’s thrush, but it isn’t available. :( )

So… what have I been up to?  Well, as I mentioned last post, my mum came to visit, and I will have a post about that soon.    I’m working on what I thought was a simple DIY picture frame project but I keep having setbacks… it feels like it’ll be ready to hang just about the time I have to move out.  I’ll post about it when it is done.  And I’ve been knitting a toque, which I just finished today.

It’s called Mod Cables hat, and I found it on Ravelry.  I actually planned to start it about a year ago, started it in blue in the fall, but decided I wanted to use green instead, and then didn’t get to it until February.  And then took a long time to actually get going.  I am going to start my next knitting project immediately (another hat, Canadians can’t have too many toques, even if it is now spring.)  Now I am in knitting mode I should keep at it.

I really like it.  It’s a one-size-fits-all pattern, and fits rather snugly, unless perhaps you have a tiny head like my friend Katie. ;)

Cooking and baking-wise, I haven’t been overly creative lately, I suppose, or my point-and-shoot photos turned out too embarrassing to publish.   I am in “use my up food before I move” mode.  But I’ll have some recipes to share soon as well.

If you know me in real life, I am sure you expect me to be heading out to the field again for another spring/summer/fall of avian field work.  You’d be correct.  From May to early August I will be doing MAPS banding (a breeding season bird monitoring program) in the Fort McMurray region of Alberta, AKA the oil sands.  It is going to be an interesting experience, I’m sure.  (And I am sure I’ll have plenty of use for my new toque up there!)  Then for August-September I will be back for another fall migration season at Mackenzie Nature Observatory.

I’m not sure if I’ll squeeze in something else in October, but at some point in the fall I will be returning here to the island.  For my fifth winter already!  And you know what?  I am going to try to make this a permanent move this time.  This time next year, I’m going to try to stay put.  I’m getting too old for this living out of a suitcase lifestyle. ;)  Ten years as a nomadic field biologist is enough.  I have no idea what that is going to mean for me career-wise, but I guess I will figure it out.  This area feels like the right place to call home.  Plus Chai will be happy to not have to go on epic roadtrips to and from my parents’ farm every year.

I’m not planning on getting a lot of apps for my iPhone, but are there any that you love?

What have you been crafting lately?

Any big news in your life?

5 Comments leave one →
  1. bee permalink
    April 1, 2012 4:54 pm

    dear jillian….went to tortuguero lat month and took a printout of your dogs of tortuguero post with me. we met most of them and it was a wonderful treat! also met the folks at wild ginger and their lovely dog and cat. although we went for the birds and other wildlife, i have to say that the dogs were a highlight for me. my granddaughter amanda is banding there with her boyfriend sam and we had a lovely visit with them. have a wonderful summer! bee

  2. April 1, 2012 4:57 pm

    The apps I use most often are the ones that came with my iPod, the weather and clock (alarm for waking up, timer for timing laundry). I have only ever paid for one app, and I didn’t find it worth the money. I like the “Needles” knitting app, it keeps track of what needles you have in your stash. Google Earth is always fun (but does take up a lot of memory). There is a Pinterest app but it has a lot of bugs still. I usually download a new game every month or two, and play it for a month or two, then never play it again. I’ve mastered Railmaze, Doodle Fit, Sushi Go Round, 4 in a Row, Scrabble Free, Chicktionary, Family Feud and Friends, and currently I play Unblock Me. You’d probably like some of the logic games available. Go to the App Store and look at the free stuff (top 25 or whatever), it’s always changing. There is a handy Canada Post app if you’re waiting for a parcel. Oh, also, there is a handy carpenter’s level, and a unit converter (i.e. cm to inches, etc).

  3. Jennie Frances permalink
    April 1, 2012 5:40 pm

    Nice to see you finished your toque. Looks nice on you :) I haven’t really done any knitting since I got back. Made a couple nice cards though. It is interesting someone is following your dogs in Tortuguero. I am sure the dogs appreciate that. Perhaps my next step will be an iPhone!

  4. April 2, 2012 9:08 pm

    I love the color of that hat! And the cable pattern. I admit to never doing cables because I am a bit lazy, but that looks great! What kind of yarn is it?

    I hear you on the too old thing. you lasted longer than I did. I didn’t know what to do, so I went back to school. Maybe try that next?

    Do you like the sibly app? I have the peterson backyard birds one, but I never use it. I was thinking about getting the sibley for when I teach field ornithology. I need to become a WI bird expert really quickly!

    You should get words with friends. We can play scrabble together. :D

  5. Julian permalink
    April 22, 2012 11:53 am

    Hi Jillian,
    If you want just one cool little game to play when you just don’t feel like birding, baking, knitting, photographing, writing, blogging, banding, etc, get “Tiny Wings” by OpenFeint.
    There are lots of “negative” bird games out there, but this one is simple and fun. You direct a bird on an island hopping migration trying to collect new nests! On the way you collect coins (should be food!) and try to reach the clouds by making super-flights out of valleys! Way cool and funny sound too!
    Julian

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 103 other followers

