Skip to content

Seeded Cornmeal Biscuits

March 10, 2012

I love biscuits.   Usually I stick to my favourite cheese biscuits, but not too long ago I tried buttermilk biscuits and they were good as well.  I’m working on reviewing a cookbook and it had a delicious-sounding biscuit recipe, so I decided to try it this rainy afternoon.

These Seeded Cornmeal Biscuits turned out quite lovely.  They have both cornmeal and whole-wheat flour in addition to all-purpose flour, making them better for you.  I had one fresh from the oven, spread with butter and my wild blueberry jam.  And I know they will go fabulously with the soup I am making later, also from that same cookbook.

I won’t post the recipe, as I didn’t make huge modifications, but it is available online (legally) here.  I cut mine with a knife instead of biscuit cutter (why create scraps in between biscuits?) and brushed the tops with milk instead of eggwhite before sprinkling on the  seeds (why waste most of an egg?)  I halved the recipe and got 8 biscuits.

In other news, my mum is coming to visit on Wednesday and is staying for 10 days.  Chai is very excited, or at least will be when he gets to see her.  So I’ve been getting ready, buying a 10 lb bag of potatoes, for one thing. ;)  I also decided to use the occasion as an excuse to splurge and buy a whole free-range chicken to roast at some point.  Years ago Mum gave me a carving knife and fork for Christmas so now I will finally get to use them!  She has wanted to come visit every winter since I moved here, and I am happy that we finally decided that this is the year.

Is there anything exciting coming up for you?

2 Comments leave one →
  1. March 10, 2012 4:55 pm

    This is awesome!!! I dont think i’ll use a biscuit cutter again- these are so pretty :)
    Ive got my 3 yr olds Nightmare Before Christmas-themed bday party coming up :) so excited! have a good visit with yer mom!!!

  2. March 10, 2012 9:38 pm

    Is that plate from Gramma’s? I haven’t made biscuits in forever… actually, I think not since a few Thanksgivings ago when I made turkey-shaped ones with a turkey cookie cutter. Exciting things coming up… well, I think HAWAII for 10-days counts. :) P.S. You should probably get more potatoes, it’s Mom visiting afterall… you’re only accounting for 1lb a day and clearly the two of you will both need a share.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 104 other followers

