Skip to content

Birthday Lemon Bars

March 4, 2012

Apparently, the fans of Birds and Baking are restless.  Why haven’t I been blogging!? Or at least my mum and my sister posted about it on my Facebook wall today. ;)

I don’t know what happened exactly.  I have some partial posts written.  But I did injure my neck/shoulder at work and so I wasn’t quite myself last week.  And with my short lens away for repairs, most of the photos that I have taken recently have turned out disappointing.  Plus, you know, I’m kind of busy just living life. ;)

On Thursday it was my fabulous friend Carmen’s birthday.

So I bought her some flowers.  I had wanted to get fair trade roses, but they were awfully old, so I settled on local-ish (BC grown) tulips.  I felt very spring-like, carrying them around downtown.

And of course, Chai had to check them out.  Unfortunately, all the action shots of him smelling them and so on were blurry.

Then, inspired by the colours, I made her a card.

Using ribbons and buttons.  I don’t have rubber stamps, so for sayings I just print them on the computer.  That way I have an infinite number of colours and fonts, and can write anything that I want!

And then, because she doesn’t particularly like cake, but had said she likes lemon bars, I made these:

Lemon Bars

(makes one 9×13″ pan, inspired by Allrecipes)

2 1/4 cups all-purpose flour, divided
1 cup icing (confectioners’) sugar, sifted, plus extra for dusting
200 grams (1 cup minus 2 tbsp) butter, softened
4 eggs
1 1/2 cups white sugar or evaporated cane juice
1 teaspoon baking powder
1/2 cup + 1 tbsp lemon juice
1 tbsp lemon zest, preferably organic

Preheat oven to 350°F. Line a 9×13″ pan with foil, then grease the foil.  In a medium bowl, stir together 2 cups flour and icing sugar. Add the butter and mix until the dough comes together.  (I find it easiest to use my hands!) Press into the bottom of the prepared pan.  Bake for 15-20 minutes or until golden. Leave oven on.

In a large bowl, beat eggs. In a small bowl, combine the sugar, baking powder and 1/4 cup of flour. Stir the sugar mixture into the eggs, then stir in the lemon juice and zest. Pour over the prepared crust and return to the oven.  Bake for an additional 30 minutes or until bars are set.

Allow to cool completely.  Dust with icing sugar (best done using a sifter or mesh sieve) before cutting into bars.

These are lemony luciousness with a shortbread crust.  My coworkers raved about them and asked for the recipe.  And they are especially good, in my opinion, topped with a slice of strawberry.

In other news, the snowdrops by my apartment are blooming (I took Chai to see them today) and I noticed that there are crocuses (croci?) up in some people’s flowerbeds.

I visited my favourite Lazo Marsh today and had a special time with a sweet little female nuthatch, who came back to my hand over and over, taking sunflower seeds.

What kind of baking or crafting are you up to?  Is spring on the way where you live?

2 Comments leave one →
  1. jennie frances permalink
    March 5, 2012 9:09 am

    Nice to see an email saying there was a new blog by you. Chai you are still very handsome and the lemon bars look very nice too :)

  2. March 10, 2012 10:24 am

    I might make some Johnston brownies today for a potluck, I haven’t made them in years! That, or else Chocolate Crackles. MMMMmmmmmmmm. I haven’t been doing any crafting this week other than crocheting little flowers with crochet cotton, plan to do some sewing this weekend. The only sight of spring is that it is to be +3C today.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 104 other followers

