Skip to content

Parsnip Two Ways

January 26, 2012

I love parsnips.  How about you?   They are really easy to cook, but in case you haven’t, here are two recipes for them.

I signed out Fresh Flavor Fast from the library again (that’s the third time, from a third library!), as well as In My Mother’s Kitchen by Trish Magwood, and noticed that both had recipes for parsnip fries.  However, one said to roast them at 400°F, and the other, 450°F.  What to do, what to do?  So I consulted Perfect Vegetables and funnily enough, their parsnip roasting recommendation was 425°F.  So that’s what I did.

Parsnip “Fries”

2-3 medium parsnips per person

olive oil as needed

salt, pepper, and rosemary as needed

Preheat oven to 425°F.  Scrub and peel parsnips, cutting off each end.  Cut in half lengthways and then cut the top portion into approximately equal-sized fries (the bottom piece will likely be narrow enough.)  Place on baking sheet, drizzle with olive oil, and mix well (use your hands!) ensuring all sides are coated.  Sprinkle with seasonings.  Place in oven and roast for 12 minutes, then turn with tongs and roast an additional 8-15 minutes, watching carefully to ensure that they don’t burn.

I pretty much ate all the fries immediately.  I only used two parsnips, next time I’ll cook three.  Or four. ;)

Another way to cook parsnips is to boil them and mash them.  I found this recipe on Allrecipes last year and have made it several times.

Mashed Parsnip, Potato, and Carrot

(serves 2)

1-2  medium parsnips, peeled and cut into 1/2-inch slices

1 large potato, peeled and cut into 1 inch pieces

1 medium carrot, cut into 1/2 inch slices

2 tablespoons milk

1/2 tablespoon butter (or more, to taste)

salt and pepper to taste

Place the potato, parsnip and carrot in a medium saucepan; cover with water. Bring to a boil. Reduce heat; cover and cook for 20-25 minutes or until tender. Drain. Add milk and butter and mash.  Season with salt and pepper to taste.

I like the confetti-like look the carrots give this mash.  You can leave out the carrot and/or the potato and that works, too.  If you like your vegetables a little sweeter, add a teaspoon or more of brown sugar.

Do you eat parsnips?  What is your favourite way of cooking them?

7 Comments leave one →
  1. Jennie Frances permalink
    January 26, 2012 7:04 pm

    I will have to try doing them in the oven! Have always done them in a frying pan and when I boil them and mash them add butter and some cream. MMMMMM good.

  2. January 26, 2012 7:06 pm

    I bake them like fries!

  3. January 26, 2012 7:24 pm

    I loooooooooooooooooove parsnips. But oddly enough, I think I have only cooked them once, for “Vegetables from Around the World” night. Here there is a school fundraiser where you pay $20 and get two bags of potatoes, two bags of onions, a bag of carrots, and a bag of parsnips. But most people apparently don’t know what to do with the parsnips. I should have bartered for some, I just got the $10 cheaper version which included a bag of potatoes, one of onions, and one of carrots.

  4. elmediat permalink
    January 26, 2012 8:43 pm

    My wife makes a similar mash up recipe with carrots and turnip. I’ve done yam fries, will have to try the parsnips. :)

  5. January 27, 2012 12:03 am

    I do NOT love parsnips. But I get them in my CSA box. So thanks for some good ideas!

  6. Ed Golem permalink
    January 27, 2012 12:30 pm

    I love parsnips particularly when they are thrown in while a turkey is roasting. These recipes look great too. Wil have to try them.

  7. February 10, 2012 1:04 am

    I love Parsnips too, and generally make them like you do your chips, but recently I made Parsnip Ice Cream – delicious! And great with chocolate :-)

    http://cookingwithemmarussell.wordpress.com/2012/02/09/masterchef-episode-7-choices-choices-choices/

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 104 other followers

