Skip to content

Fudge Brownies

September 17, 2011

I borrowed an oven.  Actually this is the second time.  The first time I made cheese biscuits and chocolate chip cookies.  The biscuits are so good I made them again (they are a prefect snack between net rounds.)  And then since I have a bottle of expeller-pressed canola oil that needs to be used up before I go to Costa Rica, I decided to make brownies.  When my parents came to visit, my mum brought me some hazelnuts, so I added them, but feel free to use walnuts or whichever nut you prefer.  Or leave them out, if you are a nut and don’t like nuts in your brownies. ;)  These are thin, moist, fudgy brownies (not to be confused with Mum’s fudge cake “brownies”, dear family.)  I like to make them and freeze them in the winter for quick individual desserts, usually with a scoop or two of vanilla ice cream.  But they are also good with a cup of tea or glass of milk.

Fudge Brownies

(makes 1 8″x 8″ pan)

2/3 cup all-purpose flour

3/4 cup white sugar or evaporated cane juice

1/3 cup cocoa

1/2 tsp baking powder

1/4 cup chopped nuts, optional

1/3 cup canola oil

2 eggs

1 tsp vanilla

Preheat oven to 350 °F.  In preheating oven, place nuts in a 8″ x 8″ pan and toast until fragrant, about 5 minutes, watching carefully.  Combine flour, sugar, cocoa, baking powder in a medium bowl.  Measure oil, then in measuring cup add in eggs and vanilla and beat lightly to combine.  Add to dry ingredients, then add nuts and mix until combined.  Grease the pan you used to toast the nuts, then spread in batter.  Bake for 20-25 minutes or until toothpick inserted in centre comes out clean.  Try to wait until these cool to cut them, because they tend to fall apart if you try to remove them while warm.

Be careful, it’s easy to think “Oh, they are so thin, I’ll just have another…” and then too quickly the pan is almost empty. ;)

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Michelle permalink
    September 18, 2011 8:24 am

    I can’t eat any brownies other than Mom brownies, they are too chocolatey.

    I bought a Betty Crocker gluten free cakemix for Mom and Auntie Connie. It cost a million dollars, so I hope it is good!

  2. Julian (the other bander) permalink
    September 28, 2011 4:56 pm

    I can attest; those brownies are gooood…yummmm…
    Thanks again for the pecan tarts and the Jillian-made blueberry jam with Jillian-picked Mackenzie blueberries. Thanks to Mamma Nature for providing the berry bounty!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 103 other followers

