Skip to content

Mmmm…. Waffles

September 6, 2011

I love my waffle maker.  I got it for Christmas two years ago, and then embarked on an Allrecipes.com search for the perfect waffle recipe.  I tried many, but the one I liked most was Great Easy Waffles.  Except that of all the recipes I tried, it was about the least easy!  It involves at least four bowls (one for the dry ingredients, one for the wet, one for melting butter, and one for beating the egg whites.)  But it is well worth the effort.  I reduced the amount of butter and sugar (now there’s only 1 gram added sugar per waffle), and substituted in half oat flour to boost the nutritional value.  (I tried making whole wheat waffles and was not impressed.)  These are fluffy and crispy, and the faint lemony taste is wonderful.

These waffles are so good that I couldn’t bear to pack away my waffle maker and hand mixer into storage this spring, and instead brought them along with me to both my field jobs.  This afternoon after banding I decided that I felt like waffles, so I walked out the door of my trailer to the forest, picked a couple handfuls of wild blueberries, and then whipped these up.

The Best Waffles I’ve Ever Eaten

(makes 12)

1 cup all-purpose flour

1 cup oat flour*

2  tsp baking powder

1 tbsp granulated sugar

¼  tsp salt

2 eggs

zest of one lemon, preferably organic

4 tbsp butter, melted

1 tsp vanilla

2 cups milk

Preheat waffle maker.  In a medium bowl, stir together the flours, baking powder, sugar, and salt; set aside. Beat egg whites in a glass or ceramic bowl until soft peaks form; set aside.  Whisk the egg yolks, lemon zest, butter, and vanilla extract together in a large bowl; whisk in the milk. Stir in the flour mixture until smooth. Fold in the beaten egg whites until just incorporated.

Grease waffle maker and cook the waffles according to manufacturer’s instructions until golden brown. Serve with toppings of choice.  (I like my waffles topped with plain yoghurt and fresh or frozen fruit, sometimes with a little maple syrup.)

Leftovers freeze well and are easily re-warmed in a toaster after defrosting them in the microwave or in the fridge overnight.

*Oat flour can be made by pulverizing old-fashioned or quick oats in a blender.  You’ll need 1 ¼ to 1 1/3 cups oats to make 1 cup flour.  I make extra and store it in an air-tight container.

More tips:

Instead of measuring out tablespoons of butter, I find it much easier to weigh it.  1 tbsp= 14.2 g, so for this recipe you will need 56.8 g.

If I only need the lemon juice for a recipe, I zest the lemon first and freeze the zest for later use, like these waffles.  You can also freeze juice as well (pre-measured by tablespoons) in an ice-cube tray and then place them in plastic bags or containers in the freezer.  I do this when I buy a bag of organic lemons.

Local eggs are much fresher than store-bought eggs, and in my experience the egg whites seem to beat quicker and result in a greater volume.

Are you a waffle or a pancake person?

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Michelle permalink
    September 7, 2011 2:44 pm

    I like both. We had waffles yesterday for supper. I have been using a recipe from The Joy of Cooking, but I might try these. What happens if you only use all purpose flour? Same quantity?

Trackbacks

  1. Baked Oatmeal (and a Free Giveaway!) « Birds and Baking
  2. Apple Pancakes « Birds and Baking

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 104 other followers

