Skip to content

Black Bean Burgers

September 5, 2011

When I was a kid, I always disliked the nights that my mum made hamburgers for supper.  I still don’t particularly enjoy hamburgers.  I don’t know what it is about them, because I do like ground beef.  And I do like other sorts of burgers, like chicken burgers.  I love black beans so when I saw a recipe in Taste of Home for black bean cakes, I decided to adapt it into burgers.  And they turned out to be delicious.

I promised you this recipe a long time ago.  But alas, I never found the time to make these while in Saskatchewan this summer, which was more of a psychological thing, because they really aren’t time-consuming to make.  They also freeze well, so they make a great quick meal.  The original recipe had egg as a binder and every other time I’ve made these, I’ve included it, but since I had to fry instead of broil these and I was concerned about heating them thoroughly enough, I left it out, and it worked fine without it. Update:  When making these with beans I cooked from dried, I needed to add an egg, as the  mixture was too dry without.

Black Bean Burgers

(makes 4 patties)

1 1/4 cups black beans, either canned or cooked from dried

1/2 tsp chili powder (or more if you like things spicy)

1/4 tsp cumin

salt and pepper to taste

3/4 cup shredded zucchini

1/4 cup grated cheddar (or whatever kind of cheese you like)

1/3 cup dry bread crumbs

1 egg, if necessary

Mash beans, then mix in spices.  Mix in zucchini, cheddar, and bread crumbs.  If the mixture seems too dry, mix in an egg.  Form into 4 patties, brush each side with oil, and place on baking sheet.

Broil 3-4 inches from the heating element for 3-4 minutes on each side until heated through.  Alternatively, you can also fry these in a covered frying pan, or grill them, just be careful when flipping them and removing them, as they are fragile. (I’ve used all three methods.)

Serve like you’d serve any burger, but they are extra tasty if you have avocado.  (Mine was avocado-less though– I refused to buy the Chilean avocados in the local store– I know there is no such thing as local avocado here, but I try to shop within this continent for the most part!)  They are also especially good on homemade burger buns but being ovenless I had to be content with buying them from the locally famous bakery.

Are you a black bean fan?  Do you have a good homemade burger recipe?

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 103 other followers

