Skip to content

The Best Cookies Ever

August 18, 2011

It has been awhile since I’ve posted a new baking recipe.  But I currently don’t have a working oven (I live in a tiny camper trailer), so I can’t bake.  However, I did bake cookies while visiting my parents on the way here, and I still have a bunch of them squirreled away in my freezer to tide me over. (Yes, Katie, I have had cookies for over 2 weeks now and haven’t finished them off– but one of the volunteers brings out fresh cookies or muffins at least every other day, so I’m pretty well provided for.)

But anyway, the cookies.  They are, I think, some of the best cookies ever.  They started as an oatmeal monster cookie recipe that I have modified greatly and added a ton of extra stuff to.  So much stuff that they can almost be considered healthy cookies.  They are the cookies I make the most (actually, if you are super observant you would have figured out that these photos were taken one time when I made them during the winter, in my apartment on the island.)  In addition to from making them for my own consumption, I also like to take them with me to my various jobs so I can win over my new coworkers.

Look at all that good stuff in there

Trail Mix Cookies

(makes about 30)

1 2/3 cups quick-cooking oats

1 1/2 cups all-purpose flour

2-3 tbsp ground flaxseed, you can also mix it up with some whole seeds as well

1 1/2 tsp baking soda

1/2 tsp salt

3/4 cup butter, softened

3/4 cup brown sugar

2 eggs

1/2 cup or more semi-sweet or dark chocolate chips or chunks

1/2 cup dried cranberries or raisins

1/4 cup pumpkin seeds

1/4 cup sunflower seeds

2 tbsp sesame seeds

Preheat oven to 350°F.  In a medium bowl, stir together oats, flour, ground flax, baking soda and salt.  In a large bowl, cream butter and brown sugar together.    Mix in eggs.  Partially blend in dry ingredients, then add chocolate, cranberries, and seeds and mix thoroughly.  Drop by tablespoons onto baking sheets and bake for 8-10 minutes or until lightly browned on edges.  Cool on cooling racks.

This recipe is pretty forgiving, adjust the mix-ins to your liking.  If you are a coconut person, throw some in.  Sometimes I make it with just chocolate chips and cranberries, and add some sort of nut as well.  If you add too much stuff, though, the cookies will be too dry and crumbly, so don’t go too crazy.

These have lots of fibre, antioxidants, magnesium, etc…  seriously, your health depends on making these cookies. ;)

What’s your favourite kind of cookies to make (or eat)?

Have you ever used food to make friends?

6 Comments leave one →
  1. August 18, 2011 7:28 pm

    Thanks for sharing the recipe! My own personal fave is the simple chocolate chip cookie. My family and I end up eating everything I bake in one sitting!

  2. August 18, 2011 8:21 pm

    Used food to make friends? Me? Never.

    I am more of a chocolate chip cookie girl myself, but I might be convinced to try these. You’ve just been bookmarked.

  3. Michelle permalink
    August 18, 2011 9:06 pm

    These sound really good. Feel free to mail me some.

    I don’t make cookies all too often, but maybe now that I have a husband I will bake more often. I made conmeal muffins earlier this week, and the next day he made a batch himself! Maybe if I make cookies they will magically start reappearing too!

    By the way, I enjoyed the gangsta “yo” thrown in that second paragraph. Are you getting ready for the gangs of Costa Rica?

  4. Janet permalink
    August 19, 2011 5:41 pm

    janet + these cookies = won over. actually bowled over. actually too lethargic from too many cookies to move much at all.

  5. September 5, 2011 11:14 pm

    I just made these with fewer chocolate chips and lots of coconut – everything else I left the same. They are so delicious! Thanks for sharing this recipe – I look forward to trying it again with different add-ins!

    -Robyn
    presifted.wordpress.com

    • September 6, 2011 4:34 pm

      I’m glad to hear that! I am always happy when someone tries out & enjoys one of my recipes!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 103 other followers

