Skip to content

Halt! Who goes there?

July 23, 2011

Recently, I went to check a nest on a community pasture for the first time; somehow it had always worked out that Mara was the one to monitor it.  I saw three of the four nestlings  (all dark-morphs) flying around strongly, along with their parents and several other hawks.  It was a hawk bonanza.

Mara had warned me about horses surrounding her truck between the two gates at the entrance, but when I arrived, they were nowhere to be seen.  When I was leaving, I stopped between the gates to take pictures prairie coneflowers, the first I had seen this year.  And then I heard thundering hooves….

I hadn’t realized that the area had an open gate into the main pasture.  And now it was too late.

I was surrounded by seven horses.

“Do you happen to have anything to eat in there?”

I had already eaten all my carrots and snap peas, so I had nothing to offer them.

I’m not quite sure what this one was trying to do, but the blond one tried to eat the radio antennae, and then the passenger side mirror.

These guys inspected the box and rubbed their teeth on it and on the things in it.

It took me a long time to figure out how to herd them out of the area so I could slip out and not have them come with me.

That was  a close one.

Have you had to deal with any unusual sitations at work (or wherever) lately?

One Comment leave one →
  1. Janet permalink
    July 24, 2011 6:22 pm

    Always making friends, Jillian, whereever you go!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 103 other followers

