Skip to content

Starberry Shortcake

July 3, 2011

I am a bad Canadian.  No Canada Day post, and here I am with a recipe for the 4th of July.  But I have several explanations.

First of all, we don’t have internet at home.  Our signal came from our landlord’s house and now instead of a house there is a giant crater.  The satellite internet antennae had been lying in their backyard since they loaded their old house onto a semi-trailer and moved it away but now that the yard has been filled with tractors and excavators and other machinery of all sorts, I’m not sure where it went.  (It’s great coming home to the sounds of clanging and beeping machinery after a long day in the field.)  Anyhow, I am not sure if we will get internet again before the end of the season and for now we have to fit in trips to town where I generally sit in my truck across the street from the bar, picking up their wireless signal.  It is hard to blog in a truck, and to find time to write the posts at all with the hawks keeping me busy.

But anyway, back to the recipe.  My crew leader is an American, from Minnesota, so I had the perfect excuse to make this idea I had in my head since I came up with my heart and flower-shaped strawberry cut-outs as pancake toppers.  I also have a mini star cutter, and the thought of cute little star-shaped strawberries made me think they’d go perfect for an Independence Day dessert.  Hence…

“Starberry” Shortcake

( inspired by this Allrecipes recipe)

(serves 4 to 6)

1 ½ cups all-purpose flour

2 tbsp sugar

1 ½ tsp baking powder

½ cup butter

1/3 cup milk

½ egg, beaten*

Preheat oven to 350°F.  In a medium bowl, mix together the flour, sugar, and baking powder.  Cut in the butter until the mixture forms coarse crumbs  Stir in the milk and egg.

Turn onto a lightly floured surface and knead just until the dough comes together.  Pat into a 1/2” thick rectangle and cut into 4- 6 squares.  Place on an ungreased baking sheet.  Bake for 15 to 20 minutes, until lightly golden.

Split and serve with whipped cream and/or ice cream and berries or fruit of choice.

*I halved the recipe, so that is why it is half a (large) egg.  You could use a whole medium one, or as I discovered, you can use a kitchen scale to easily figure out what half a beaten egg is.

I made this as four, but they are rather large servings.  I recommend making 6, as extras freeze well.  I actually made this several days ago, on my days off, and we ended up eating it at about 10 o’clock at night (that’s why the lighting in the photo is so awful!) after Mara came home from getting her truck stuck.  So it was a celebration of her getting unstuck. ;)

What I did was layer shortcake, then sliced strawberries, then whipped cream, then blueberries.  Then I put on the top layer of shortcake and added a dollop of whipped cream, and decorated the top and the plate with more blueberries and the star cut-outs.  Of course, if Canadians can find tiny maple leaf cutters this would work well for Canada Day, too, without the blueberries. ;)  I ate one of the leftover ones with non-fancy strawberries and ice cream for Canada Day.

The cut-outs are prettiest if you make them using the outside slices only.    I’ll share a recipe using the leftover scraps of strawberries in a future post.

Hopefully I’ll have some posts in the near future more on the “birds” side of things…  (My sister Michelle commented I don’t talk about birds enough to warrent them in my blog title.)  I have photos, I just need the time to write about them!

Did you do anything special for Canada Day or Independence Day?

7 Comments leave one →
  1. stace8383 permalink
    July 3, 2011 8:49 pm

    That looks and sounds really yummy, thanks for the recipe! I’m going to try making it gluten free :)

  2. Pamela permalink
    July 4, 2011 8:09 am

    I think the photo makes the Starberry Shortcake look like an owl! Does that count for birds Michelle? Looks delicious.

  3. Jennie Frances permalink
    July 4, 2011 8:48 pm

    Someone took my maple leaf cutters – I thought it was you?? Canada Day was spent housecleaning and doing laundry!

  4. July 4, 2011 9:46 pm

    I just got a box of Bisquick gluten free mix with a strawberry shortcake recipe on the back and I’ve been thinking about it for a while now. And I may be doing some strawberry picking this weekend. This could spell shortcake in my future, I think.

    I can’t wait to hear more about the birds!

Trackbacks

  1. Wild Blueberries « Birds and Baking
  2. Blueberry-Lemon Cake « Birds and Baking

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 104 other followers

