Skip to content

Sunday Bread Series: Honey Cornbread

June 12, 2011

I made a giant pot of vegetarian chili on my first days off this summer, and froze most of it so I had something quick for supper for the days that I knew I’d be too tired to cook a proper meal when I get home.  Usually we’ve been eating it with rice but yesterday (on days off again) I decided I felt like making some cornbread to go with it.

I like my cornbread somewhat sweet, and I wanted to make one with honey in it.  Usually I make a recipe I learned from a coworker a long time ago, but I always had problems with it being too dry for my liking when I bake it.  So I combined aspects of her recipe with another I found on the internet.  But really I think the main key to moist cornbread is not overbaking it.  One advantage of baking in a giant toaster oven is that it is very easy to keep an eye on things– I discovered the top was nicely browned and the bread was cooked far faster than I expected.

Honey Cornbread

3/4 cup yellow cornmeal

1 cup milk

1 cup flour

2 tsp baking powder

1/2 tsp salt

1 egg, well beaten

2 1/2 tbsp canola oil

1/3 cup honey

Preheat oven to 400°F.  In a medium bowl, combine cornmeal and milk, let sit for 10 minutes.  Meanwhile, in another bowl, stir together flour, baking powder, and salt.  Once cornmeal mixture has sat, add in the egg, oil, and honey, stir well.  Pour into the flour mixture and beat well.  Pour into a well-greased 8×4″ loaf pan or 8×8″ cake pan* and bake for 13 to 20 minutes (or up to 35 minutes, if you are using a loaf pan),watching carefully, until edges are lightly browned and/or a toothpick comes out clean.

*I used a 9×9″ pan but the cornbread was rather thin.

I used Honey Bunny Organic Liquid Clover Honey, which is produced by a company located not too far from my parents’ farm.  I like their pouches because it is easy to put them in hot water to re-liquify crystalized honey, and easy to squeeze out almost every last drop.

Among other things, they also make Buzz Balm Lip Balm.  I recently bought the almond-flavoured one.  It is very soft lip balm but I like it.  Honey Bunny products are available at your local small town Co-op store out here on the prairies, and at various natural food stores in Canada and the US, or you can order them online.

Do you like cornbread?  Sweet or savory?

Do you have a favourite kind of honey?

7 Comments leave one →
  1. Pamela permalink
    June 12, 2011 10:40 pm

    Funny, when I saw that Honey Bunny package my first thought was, that would be cute in a purse or bag design! I think it would be a lot of work to get it clean enough for sewing though. I don’t like the taste of cornbread, but Rick does. I always wanted to try it because of Little House on the Prairie. Wasn’t impressed when I did. Maybe I should try some of yours. I like sweet.

    • June 14, 2011 3:44 pm

      I could save the package for you. The company says it is recyclable but I don’t think it would actually get recycled.

  2. June 13, 2011 4:16 am

    I made this last night on a whim. I didn’t have enough honey (1/4 cup) but it was so delicious. I baked it in a bread pan and it took 35 minutes- so we ate it after dinner. But it was really good! I’ve never made homemade cornbread before- thank you for sharing!

    • June 14, 2011 2:47 pm

      Wow, I’m so happy that you tried out my recipe! I suppose yours took longer because you used a loaf pan and it would have been a lot thicker– I’ll make a note of that in the original post. I’m glad that you enjoyed it.

Trackbacks

  1. Vegetarian Chili « Birds and Baking

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 103 other followers

