Skip to content

Sunday Bread Series: Hamburger Buns

June 5, 2011

I actually had this recipe ready to post back in early May, but I forgot to click the correct button so it didn’t autopublish when I though it would, and because of our lack of internet access for a while, I didn’t even notice.

I am working on the same ferruginous hawk (an endangered species) project as last year.  One major event that sticks out in my mind from last summer was the day  our town, Maple Creek,  flooded and a large chunk of the TransCanada (the major east-west highway in Canada) washed away.  We were very fortunate that our basement didn’t flood (my room was down there!)– only the garage did.  That evening I made black bean burgers on homemade buns and potato salad to celebrate making it through the flood okay.  Well…. I think I had the idea to make them before the flood, but it was good to be able to actually cook as planned  rather than be worrying about how to find a sump pump or something like that.

The hamburger buns were 50% whole wheat buns topped with sunflower seeds, a recipe I had clipped from one of my gramma’s magazines.  I followed it pretty much exactly as written, and it has always turned out well (I’ve made it several times since,) so I will simply point you to the recipe over at  Canadian Living.  I will post my black bean burger recipe sometime soon– after I make them again this summer.  They are really good. ;)

This year we are based near Shaunavon and a few days ago we had another natural disaster– a tornado!  (They are pretty rare in Canada, if you didn’t know.)  I was in town, doing laundry, when the lightning started, then hail, and then sirens went off.   I had no idea what was going on until Mara came back from the post office and showed me the pictures she had taken.  On our way out of town we passed by the area where it had touched down– you can see some pictures at CBC.  The grain bins that were destroyed are actually quite close to a couple of houses– I am sure those people are very thankful for the path the tornado took!

Have you been through any natural disasters?

I also was present for the Red River flooding in 1996 and ’97 in Manitoba, and Hurricane Charley in 2004 in Florida.

What’s your favourite kind of burger?

3 Comments leave one →
  1. June 6, 2011 8:08 am

    Beef burgers are the best, but I rarelyt eat them. I like Dr. Praeggers veggie burgers because you can actually see the vveggies. Other “veggie” burgers are made with mostly soy isolate and other stuff you can’t pronounce.

  2. Michelle permalink
    June 7, 2011 3:25 am

    I like beef burgers. Or a chicken burger that is just a piece of chicken breast. Mechanically separated and deep fried doesn’t appeal to me.

Trackbacks

  1. Black Bean Burgers « Birds and Baking

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 103 other followers

