Skip to content

The Neighbours

June 4, 2011
tags: , ,

Our fieldhouse is a guest house above a garage on a farm, and our landlords have several dogs.  I’ve heard rumours that there are five but so far I’ve only met four–  an ancient collie-type, a shy elkhound, and these guys:

Jackson and Snortles

Okay, the black one’s name isn’t really Snortles.  But I don’t know what it is, and he snorts when he breathes.  They come thundering up the stairs for a visit once in a while.  I used to let them in but they tend to run around and go crazy, including trying to climb into the cupboards (they don’t have doors) and climbing on my bed (a mattress on the living room floor.)  Plus, well, they kind of stink.   So now I just go out to visit them and ignore their sad faces when I come back in.  Although when I go out to visit them they still climb on my leg, eager to be petted, and get my pants all dirty.

Don’t tell Chai that I’ve been playing with dogs instead of him.  But he is probably busy with his own crazy antics at my parents’ place.

Do you call yourself a cat or a dog person?

I like both, but cats are less stinky and drooly.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. June 5, 2011 8:06 am

    I honestly don’t know. I think of myself as a dog person, but only if it is someone else’s dog. They are too much work for me on my own. I thing I may consider a cat. Eventually. Maybe.

  2. Michelle permalink
    June 7, 2011 3:22 am

    I don’t like dog smell. Or dog drool. But I liked Jenny and Toto was okay. If it is a dog with good manners, generally we can be friends (as long as they don’t smell and/or get any goobers on me).

  3. Jennie Frances permalink
    June 7, 2011 8:52 am

    I think I would just let those doggies look in! Those faces aren’t appealing to me! Nor the dog smell.
    Chai has been in the dryer here! The tide has turned for him – Mel puts the run on him now and if he gets within 4 feet of her it is grrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrr, Her due date is the 12th – even though I keep saying the 10th!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 103 other followers

