Skip to content

Maple Salmon

June 3, 2011

In my quest to try to eat only humanely-raised meat (yeah, I know, that’s a whole can of worms kind of topic) I’ve essentially become a vegetarian for the summer, because so far I can’t find any affordable source of meat I’m comfortable consuming in this area.  (The other day I asked at Nutters, a natural food store in Swift Current how much a package of two frozen chicken breasts from Pine View Farms cost.  The answer was $23, and I put it back!)

Once in a while I’m a pescatarian.   I know that fish-eating is also controversial topic and I need to do more research but for now I still eat wild salmon, partly for the health benefits (omega-3 and all that) but mostly just because I love the taste of salmon.  (I love the taste of Chicken McNuggets, too, but I have successfully given them up.  But I’m pretty sure they don’t have any health benefits.)  One of my favourite ways to cook salmon is with a maple-soy glaze; if I want to make an easy “meat and potatoes” type meal for guests it is generally what I serve.  It is great with either potatoes or rice (especially a mixture of white and wild) and green beans sautéed with almonds and thyme.

Maple Salmon

(serves 2)

2 fillets wild salmon

2 tbsp maple syrup

1 tbsp tamari or soy sauce

1 tbsp lime juice, or 1-2 packets True Lime

1 clove garlic, minced

pinch salt and pepper

Combine marinade ingredients, pour over salmon, turning to coat, and refrigerate for 20 minutes.  Preheat oven to 400*F.  Place salmon in a baking dish and bake for 14 minutes, or until it flakes easily with a fork or a meat thermometer reads 140*F.  You can baste the salmon once or twice with the reserved marinade for extra flavour.  Just don’t pour it all in at the beginning or you will have a bubbling black goo to clean up.

I recently discovered True Lime because I was looking for something to cover up the disgusting taste of our tap water. (Even a Brita filter can’t take it away.  We eventually gave up and started buying 5-gallon bottles of water, because drinking enough water is very important during fieldwork.)  I don’t like bottled lime juice because of the sulphites and it is hard to always have limes on hand when I want them.  So True Lime is a nice stand in.  It also keeps the marinade thicker, so less of it runs off the fish.  Normally I don’t like things in individual packets but at least they are just paper and therefore recyclable.

Do you like salmon?  How do you like to make it? 

Is there any food that you love that you’ve given up?

4 Comments leave one →
  1. June 4, 2011 6:57 am

    I actually don’t like salmon. I’m not big on fish at all. Unless it s sushi, then bring it on.

  2. Michelle permalink
    June 7, 2011 3:18 am

    I don’t go to McDonald’s very often anymore, but I still get McNuggets every once in awhile. Do you still eat canned salmon?

Trackbacks

  1. Freshly Picked « Birds and Baking
  2. Salmon with Avocado Sauce « Birds and Baking

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 104 other followers

