Skip to content

Toaster Oven Chocolate Chip Cookies

May 19, 2011

To all my avid followers ;) , I apologise for my blogging absence.  I can’t believe it’s already been 3 weeks since I started my field season working with ferruginous hawks!  Our schedule has been quite busy, plus we haven’t had reliable internet service so far, but that should change soon (the internet situation, but probably not the busy-ness!)

I did have three days off recently, and it was nice to get my belongings organised in the field house, do some birding, and experiment with baking.  My field house is a nice, spacious, new guest house over a garage on a farm near Shaunavon, which is in southeastern Saskatchewan.  It’s got a large kitchen area with a lot of counter space, but there’s no stove.  Instead we have two hot plates (that work just as well as a stove top) and the largest toaster oven I have ever seen.

Actually, it’s not a toaster oven, but a countertop oven.  Having bought  bread for the first time in months (trying to avoid reading the ingredient labels) I wanted to dive right in and bake bread.  But I realised that I should start things off a little more simply and made chocolate chip cookies instead.

I went shopping for baking ingredients in the local Co-op grocery store.  I’ve been trying to make a switch to almost exclusively buying fair trade chocolate, so I was pleased to find Cadbury Dairy Milk bars on sale.  Their Dairy Milk line became fair trade-certified last year, which is great, because they are available pretty much everywhere in Canada, and are the same price as conventional chocolate.  My only (small) complaint is that they use artificial vanilla flavouring.  But so did all the chocolate chips available at the Co-op, which definitely aren’t fair trade.


I have a couple of chocolate chip cookies that I enjoy making, but my favourite straight chocolate chip cookie recipe comes off the back of Hershey’s Chipits milk chocolate chips.  They stay chewy, which I think is very important.  They are great with either milk or dark chocolate.

Chewy Chocolate Chip Cookies

(makes about 1 1/2 dozen)

1/3 cup butter, melted

1 cup brown sugar

1 tbsp hot water

1 egg

1 1/3 cups all-purpose flour

1/2 tsp baking soda

1/2 tsp baking powder

heaping 1/2 cup (or more!) chocolate chunks or chips  (2 42-gram Dairy Milk bars, chopped, or chocolate of your choice)

Preheat oven to 375*F.  Cream together brown sugar and butter,then mix in hot water and egg.  Stir in flour, baking soda, and baking powder until well-combined.  Mix in chocolate chunks.   Drop by heaping teaspoonful onto ungreased baking sheets and bake for 8 to 10 minutes, until lightly browned.  Cool on wire racks.

The toaster oven cookie baking was a success!  I also made rubarb-apple crisp a few days later and it also worked.  So my next days off, bread-making might be in the plans.

Have you ever baked in a toaster oven?  Do you like your cookies chewy or crisp?

8 Comments leave one →
  1. May 19, 2011 9:54 pm

    wow, i’m impressed. baking homemade choco-chip cookies in a toaster oven? very resourceful.

  2. May 20, 2011 7:35 am

    I sure have, but not in a fancy toaster oven like that! They look perfect!

  3. Michelle permalink
    May 21, 2011 9:33 pm

    How long did it take you to bake two at a time?

    • May 21, 2011 9:41 pm

      Maybe it looks like two at a time, but that pan fit 6 at a time. And I discovered that I can fit a 12″ pizza pan in the oven, which might hold more cookies.

  4. Janet permalink
    May 24, 2011 12:29 pm

    i can personally attest to the awesomeness of those cookies. AWESOMENESS.

Trackbacks

  1. A Variation on Perfection « Birds and Baking
  2. Fudge Brownies « Birds and Baking
  3. World Fair Trade Day (Free giveaway!) « Birds and Baking

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 103 other followers

