Skip to content

Chai and the Big Move

May 4, 2011

As I said before, moving out of my apartment on Vancouver Island is something I’ve done now for three springs in a row.  Bu this is the first time I’ve had a cat at the time.  And the first time that I had a real bed.  (It is very likely that have spent more nights sleeping on an air mattress than at least 99% of the population!)  But anyway, back to the cat and the bed.

“What you means me not ‘llowed up here?  Me is de king of de castle.”

The day I moved my furniture out I had to prop my mattress against the wall to take the bed frame apart.  As you know Chai loves to help make the bed, so he decided to participate in mattress-moving as well.  I ended up almost squashing him.  He didn’t seem phased by that and insisted on engaging in other dangerous mattress behaviour like repeatedly climbing it until I shut him out of the bedroom.

He then moved on to other dangerous behaviour.

“Me is ready to be puts into storage.”

Not surprising, as when I moved in he was fascinated by plastic bags as well.

“What you means dis bag is not a toy?”

While my friend Devin helped me move all my furniture into her truck, Chai had to be shut in the bathroom so he wouldn’t escape.  I let him out before we went to the storage unit and he was visibly shocked when he came into the living room and saw there was no furniture left.  I took him out on the balcony and showed him that it was all in the truck.  He was quite concerned.

Later he decided to calm down and took a brief nap while I was trying to get my remaining things either ready for storage or to take with me.

So overwhelmed.

Which reminded me of the day we moved in.

So tiny and cute back then!

But finally, there was only one last thing.

“Don’t forget to takes me!”

Next post I’ll talk about our trip.

Have you ever moved with a pet?

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Jennie Frances permalink
    May 5, 2011 7:13 am

    Chai’s family was looking forward to seeing him again – now they think he should have stayed in the plastic bag and gone to storage ;)

  2. May 9, 2011 1:20 pm

    When you stayed at Penner Paradise I moved with all of the 10 cats we had at the time. They were scared of the dark and the big bad unknown, and every night slept on my legs until it got light.

Trackbacks

  1. Moving Images « Birds and Baking

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 103 other followers

