Skip to content

Other Things I Like

April 7, 2011

As the banner says, this blog is about birds and baking and other things I like, so here are some other things that I’ve been into lately:

1. What I’ve been listening to:

I can listen to “Mountain Top” by Bedouin Soundclash, “The Cave” by Mumford & Sons, and “Dog Days are Over” by Florence + The Machine over and over.  I have also started listening to CBC Classical.  It’s nice, non-distracting background music with no DJs talking about what celebrity couple just broke up or ads for mortgage brokers.

2. Latest Thrift Store Finds:

On Saturday while running errands I parked near the Salvation Army, so I decided to go check it out.  Not only did I find a  pair of  good-as-new North Face convertible pants (you know, the kind that zip off to shorts) that fit me perfectly and only cost $7 (out of curiosity I checked online and they are $90  new), I also found a smokey-blue wine glass to replace the one that got broke from the set of four I picked up at a garage sale in Alberta 10 years ago (I don’t drink alcohol but they are fun anyway.)  I also stopped by Value Village when I went bridesmaid dress shopping (for my sister’s wedding) in Nanaimo last month, where I found a perfect pair of jeans (I have a weird waist-to-hip ratio so it’s hard to find ones that fit)  and several very affordable circular and double-pointed knitting needles.  

3.Fair Trade

Camino Chocolate Snack Bars

These chocolate bars are fair trade, organic, and delicious.  They are also gluten-free, dairy-free and vegan, if that matters to you.  The peanut butter ones are just as good as Reese’s Peanut Butter Cups, in my opinion, but the almond butter one is the best.  They go for about $1.49 but they were on sale recently so I stocked up. ;)  I’m trying to view chocolate actually as a treat so I don’t eat chocolate bars very often anymore.

President’s Choice Fair Trade Orange Pekoe Tea

I was very excited when I discovered that President’s Choice has its own line of fair trade tea.  At $1.99 for 20 bags it is pricier than conventional tea, but it’s still only 10 cents a cup– what other beverage (other than plain tap water) is that cheap?  They just redid the box design and I am mystified why they still don’t call attention to the fact that it’s organic as well.  I wish that it came in a bigger size, because I can go through a box in about a week.  If you drink tea and you have access to PC brand products, you really should try it.  Don’t you think everybody deserves fair pay?

4. Fruit Salad

I’m known for my baking, but if I had to choose only one dessert to eat for the rest of my life, I think it would be fruit salad.  When I was a kid fruit salad was oranges and McIntosh apples, sprinkled with sugar.  I never liked McIntosh apples.  This time I made it with red grapefruit, navel oranges, Gala apples, red grapes, and strawberries.  Mmmm…. no sugar needed.  I’m looking forward to my half-case of mangoes getting ripe!  I also like kiwi fruit in it.   I bought 2 3-lb bags of organic oranges (they were cheaper that way) and a 3-lb bag of organic apples so I’m going to be eating a lot of fruit salad!   (Note to self, do not leave bowl of fruit salad unattended on table or Chai will shove his face in it.)

5. What I’m reading:

The 100-Mile Diet: A Year of Local Eating

I’d heard about this book awhile ago, but just finally started reading it.  Since the authors were based in Vancouver I live within their 100-mile radius, so it has been interesting learning about local food in my area.  I also really enjoyed reading about their experiences finding, picking, and preserving food.  Although I haven’t finished it yet, I think the book’s many critics about the unsustainability of the idea have it all wrong.   I don’t think Smith & McKinnon are advocating people all actually try to follow a 100-mile diet, their experience was to be the starting point for dialogue about eating locally and seasonally, and rethinking the way our current food system is riddled with unsustainability.

Chai also enjoyed the book.

What are some things that you’re into lately?

7 Comments leave one →
  1. Michelle permalink
    April 7, 2011 9:45 pm

    I really like edamame. Costco sells an organic 12-pack box. I usually only eat half a serving so it lasts twice as long.
    Have you converted to cloth napkins and hankies yet? I stopped using Kleenex a couple of years ago, didn’t make sense to me to throw out kleenexes out of my pockets every day. I bought cloth napkins for the wedding, so if you want some afterwards, I don’t need to keep 120.
    Also, I started making cards with decorations cut on my Slice machine from the inside of security envelopes. There are all sorts of neat patterns. It makes me want junk mail!

    • Jennie Frances permalink
      April 8, 2011 1:03 pm

      Ah Michelle – I always thought the inside of security envelopes was neat too – but it still looks like the indside of security envelopes no matter what yo do with it ;) – you are using hankies?? I suppose it is a good idea but you know the ones I wash!

  2. Peanut Butter Bandit permalink
    April 7, 2011 10:33 pm

    Just stumbled across your blog! I liked your post. :) I agree about almond butter camino chocolate/snack bars… they’re amazing. I love almond butter and peanut butter equally, so I’m very divided about which one I like best! Some other things I’m loving right are oat bran, peanut flour, greek yogurt, and icy coffee treats. Can’t get enough of those things!! (Not all together, of course…)

    • April 8, 2011 8:20 am

      Thanks for stopping by and for the comment! I like oat bran, too, and love Balkan-style yoghurt (which is a little thinner than Greek.) An American friend of mine is sending me some peanut flour and I’m looking forward to trying it out!

  3. Jennie Frances permalink
    April 8, 2011 1:08 pm

    Chai I have been waiting for your post for awhile now – looks like you kekep very busy. I am really wondering what you will do to this place over the summer. Do you have a favorite toy that you will bring me to play with like your sister Mel does? She is really silly. When I have to go to bed before Dad – she takes it to him for a little play – he never lasts long, and then she brings it up onto the bed. When she knows I am sleeping because I have to getup at 4:30 she just drops it on the bed and leaves it there. Otherwise it is playtime with Mum. :) So you like fruit salad do you? I think Jillian has forgotten that we had grapefruit in it sometimes too.

Trackbacks

  1. Tea « Birds and Baking
  2. World Fair Trade Day (Free giveaway!) « Birds and Baking

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 103 other followers

