Skip to content

Spring at Last

April 5, 2011

In my mind spring starts on Vancouver Island when the sun starts to shine a little more in February, but this year it was gloomy, gray, rainy and even sometimes snowy… even into March.  This was only my third winter on the island though, so maybe that’s the way it really is.  Anyhow, I am glad that spring is finally here.  This is only my second April on the island, and it is nice to get to see spring progressing in the valley again.

There aren’t a ton of cherry trees here (why doesn’t everyone have one?) but there are some and they are beautiful right now.

There are a few Western Trillium plants growing on the bank behind my apartment and I just noticed that they are blooming.  They are pretty rare, I think, so I feel lucky to get to enjoy them.

The snowdrops are long over, the crocuses seem to be finished, the grape hyacinths are just starting…

but the daffodils are in full force.  There are many areas along roadways where they have become naturalized.  I am tempted to pick some but Chai would just try to eat them.

Robins over-winter here, but scores more arrived a few weeks ago.  The Pacific Black Brant have been around for awhile, too, I love hearing them muttering to each other in the bay when I walk to my car in the morning.

I took this photo last year, but there are a hundred or two in the bay right now.  White-crowned sparrows can be found here in the winter, but I heard one singing today.  A lot of the other resident birds are singing, too, and the bald eagles already have eggs.

Now I’m just waiting to see my first warbler of the year.

Speaking of birds, another sign of spring in the valley is the arrive of the Canadian Forces Snowbird Demonstration Team, who practice in this area every April.  I’m a little ambivalent about the Snowbirds.  The fuel use, the pollution, the fact that eight pilots have lost their lives– all for a show?  But then, since the airport/air force base is practically in my backyard, I can easily watch them practice.  They’re out there doing barrel-rolls.  So… they are kind of cool.

It is super hard to get a photo that shows how cool their moves are.

Apparently, this is the “Mini Concord” formation , according to the Snowbirds website.

Yeah, that’s right.  That plane is flying upside-down.

Is is spring for you yet?  What are some of the signs you look for?

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Jennie Frances permalink
    April 5, 2011 7:46 pm

    Lovely photos Jillian. It must be really nice to see the cherry blossoms and trillium – the smell from daffodils would be wonderful to take in :) Chai don’t eat the flowers!

  2. April 5, 2011 10:16 pm

    Daffodils are some of my favorite flowers. I think they are grossly under-rated.

Trackbacks

  1. Moving Images « Birds and Baking

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 104 other followers

