Skip to content

Sunday Bread Series: Cheese Biscuits

April 3, 2011

It seems like the cool thing to do in the blogosphere is to have a series of posts, so I decided to give into the peer pressure. ;)  One of my favourite things to bake are bread products, so I thought it would be fun to showcase them.  I’m going to start off simple with a quick bread, but next week I’ll have a yeast bread to share with you.

I started making this cheese biscuit recipe in my fourth year of university, from a recipe booklet my mum sent me.  The  original, which included bacon (which is a fantastic addition, by the way) can be found on the Robin Hood flour site.  These are great served with soup (I especially like them with corn chowder or vegetable soup), and are good for packing in lunches or for when you need a grab-and-go kind of snack.  They freeze well, so it is easy to keep a supply on hand.  They are also a great way to use up plain yoghurt that is getting close to its best-before date.

Cheese Biscuits

(makes 8 to 12)

2 cups all-purpose flour*

2 1/2 tsp baking powder

1/2 tsp baking soda

1/3 cup salted butter

1 1/2 cups shredded medium cheddar cheese

1 cup plain yoghurt (any percentage of fat works)

Preheat oven to 450*F.  In a large bowl, combine flour, baking powder, and baking soda.  Cut in butter with a pastry blender or fork until it forms coarse crumbs.  Stir in cheese.  Add yoghurt, stirring until mostly combined.  Turn onto a lightly floured surface and knead 10-15 times until dough comes together.  Pat into a rectangle, cut into 8-12 squares, depending on how big you like your biscuits.  Place on ungreased baking sheet and bake for 10-15 minutes, or until golden.  Loosen immediately with a metal spatula (or they are very hard to remove due to the melted cheese.)

Wonderful served warm.

*I’ve substituted up to 1/2 cup whole wheat flour successfully but any more than that and the biscuits aren’t as nice.

“Now dat you’s shared the recipe you’s going to share dis bizcuit wif me, right?”

Do you like biscuits?  What is your favourite bread product?

7 Comments leave one →
  1. April 3, 2011 8:33 pm

    This series is going to kill me. I love bread. You have to promise to do at least one gluten free bread, okay?

    Please?

  2. Jennie Frances permalink
    April 4, 2011 7:56 pm

    Pam picked up some gluten free pancake batter mix – Kinnikinnik brand, in Edmonton. MMMMMMMMmmmmmmm it is really good – I hadn’t had pancakes for a very long time so that may have contributed to their tastyness :) – I still haven’t used the mixes you brought Jillian :(

  3. April 9, 2011 5:57 pm

    I love biscuits! Baking bread is my favorite kind of cooking to do. I will try these…maybe tomorrow!

Trackbacks

  1. Fudge Brownies « Birds and Baking
  2. Vegetarian Chili « Birds and Baking
  3. Buttermilk Biscuits « Birds and Baking
  4. Seeded Cornmeal Biscuits « Birds and Baking

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 104 other followers

