Skip to content

Vegetable Biryani

March 22, 2011

I recently realized that I haven’t cooked anything curry for a long time– not since I had a spinach dal fiasco in the fall.  But in general I love cooking with curry, so I decided to revisit a recipe for Vegetable Biryani I made last winter and recalled as being really, really good.  It’s a curried basmati rice dish with lentils, cauliflower, carrots, peas, and raisins.  However, this time I had to make a few changes, which including using curry powder instead of curry paste, and broccoli instead of cauliflower (plus I added in red pepper and mushrooms I needed to use up.)  As a result, the curry flavour wasn’t the same, and the broccoli was overcooked and an unappetizing shade of green.  Actually, somehow everything ended up overcooked, so I ended up with mushy rice and vegetables– yuck.  And silly me, recalling how good it was, made the full recipe– which ended up about 6 servings.  I seem to have  a problem with excess boring leftovers.

As a result of the ugly nature of my meal, I didn’t take any pictures.  But I do encourage you to try it for yourself– just use curry paste and cauliflower, and it will be delicious.  If you have a latent desire to use lentils, it is a great place to try them.  It’s also a great way to go vegan for a meal.  And unless you are a total raisin-hater, don’t leave them out– surprisingly, they are the best part.  I cut the recipe out of my gramma’s magazine, you can find it here.

Despite my issues, Chai approved of the use of broccoli.

He rolled around with it.

He did his cute squirrel nut pose.

And then he chowed down.

Do you like curry?  Have you had any recent ingredient substitution disasters?

3 Comments leave one →
  1. March 23, 2011 8:30 am

    I have the same problem with curry, it always ends up mushy. I think its because to really get the curry flavor into the veggies, you have to cook them longer. But maybe that is all in my head.

    I LOVE broccoli in curry. The flavor gets all packed into those little crowns.

    Don’t ever make those recipes with black beans for brownies. That is one substitution that absolutely sucks.

  2. Jennie Frances permalink
    March 23, 2011 8:07 pm

    Oh Jillie, me Millie is here and saw my brudder – me misses him – when it is he is coming home again? Miss Millie :)

  3. March 24, 2011 8:36 am

    I make a curry with a Sharwood’s brand pre-made red curry sauce. It is delicious. The sauce is very very flavourful. I cut up chicken or other meat and marinate it in the sauce for a little bit (or you can even just mix it together and fry right away), then add the mixed vegetables in the frying pan or wok, cook for a little while, and add the rest of the sauce. I find if the sauce is flavourful enough itself, then you don’t need to overcook the veggies to get enough curry flavour. Perhaps make your sauce in advance and let it sit so all the flavours really steep and come out?

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 104 other followers

