Skip to content

Fried Plantains

March 7, 2011

Recently I’ve been trying to explore the produce section a little more.  I bought some cara caras the other day, which are supposedly oranges with pink flesh.  Cutting them open they still look very orange to me.  Well… maybe there’s a hint of pink, but definitely  not enough to be worth more than regular navel oranges, which I belatedly discovered are much cheaper. (I normally buy mandarins and clementines.)  Oh wait, according to Wikipedia, “the flavor is more complex than most navel varieties and has been described as evoking notes of cherry, rose petal and blackberry.”  Hmmm… still not convinced.

One better slightly unusual fruit purchase I’ve made this winter is to start buying plantains.  They are delicious fried for dessert.  Since they are much starchier than a regular banana, let your plantain become very ripe  (very black)  for this recipe.

Fried Plantains

(One plantain will serve one to two people)

1 tbsp butter

1-2 tbsp brown sugar

1 plantain, cut into diagonal slices

Melt butter in a frying pan over medium heat.  Sprinkle in brown sugar, then add plantains.  Cook until browned, flip and brown the other side.  Very good with vanilla bean ice cream.  You can also sprinkle the plantain with cinnamon during cooking if you’d like.

 

Chai hasn’t expressed any interest in oranges nor plantains, but he does like strawberries and kiwi.

How adventurous are you in the fruit section?

4 Comments leave one →
  1. March 8, 2011 7:11 am

    Erica and I used to make these all the time in Panama, and I think Tom made them in Havasu? Anyway, I ate them for breakfast, not dessert. :)

  2. March 8, 2011 2:07 pm

    Have you tried Blood Oranges? I think they are called Mara oranges sometimes but I may be mistaken on the M word. I bought them by mistake once… they are very interesting inside, when you slice them open looks like you cut your finger and it bled on the orange. Ha ha.

    When my house took turns cooking one year, every Monday night I was in charge of supper. I did a series that I called “Vegetables from Around the World,” and every week I tried to get a new weird something. There are lots of good Chinese veggies. I did not enjoy rapini. Or there is this big Chinese radish, I forget what it is called, but it is bitter and not tastey. Tried a few canned fruits as well but nothing that I ever bought again.

  3. Jennie Frances permalink
    March 8, 2011 6:44 pm

    I just bought a bag of Cara Caras but we haven’t tried them yet. The bag of Mandarins is being consumed first :)
    I think you probably know how I would feel about Plantains! U am surprised at you frying things :) I found corn Rotelli in the IGA here, today. They have other noodle things non gluten but all made with brown rice. I much prefer corn. There was elbow macarroni too made of corn but don’t think I would use it. Have bought a gluten free cook book fromthe travelling man and should be able to bring that home tomorrow.

Trackbacks

  1. Patacones « Birds and Baking

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 104 other followers

