Skip to content

Spinach, Yummy Spinach

March 6, 2011

It snowed again on Friday.  Yes, it is early March, and in most parts of Canada that still means winter.  But this is Vancouver Island.  I don’t recall snow down here in the valley even in February.  However, I do only have two previous winters to compare this one to, so perhaps this isn’t unusual.  And although it was snowing heavily at work, by the time I got home it was raining heavily, as  I live right by the ocean.

Anyhow, I’m tired of winter so I decided to go for summer in the kitchen, and picked up a package of strawberries to make my favourite salad, which again, is an Allrecipes.com recipe.   However, it actually is a recipe I created and submitted to the site.   I have modified it a bit since I came up with it 6 years ago, and this time I made it without the chicken.

Strawberry Spinach Salad with Ginger-Lime Dressing

(serves 1, vegetarian, but it’s also really good with chicken)

1 tbsp plain yoghurt (or you can use mayonnaise as I originally did)

2 tsp lime juice

1/4 tsp ground ginger

pepper to taste

1-2 tsp milk

2 cups fresh spinach, torn

4-6 fresh strawberries, sliced

1 1/2 tbsp silvered almonds

In a bowl, mix yoghurt, lime juice, ginger, pepper, and milk.  Place spinach in a bowl, top with strawberries and almonds.  Drizzle with dressing.

As I was cleaning the spinach I felt a paw on my leg.

“Can I pwease have some spinaches?”

Cats eat grass, so I figure a little greenery shouldn’t hurt him.

Like a squirrel with a nut!

“Nom nom nom…”

“Yum… that was ‘licious.”

Chai, you are a weirdo.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Jennie Frances permalink
    March 7, 2011 2:07 pm

    chuckle chuckle – Chai you are so cute – nice your mother has a quit camera. Did she show you the mooses tongue yet?? Opps I guess that is your auntie not mother

  2. Jennie Frances permalink
    March 7, 2011 2:07 pm

    ok, so that was suppose to be quick!!! camera

  3. March 11, 2011 9:35 pm

    Hehe, Chai is such a cutie pie!!! :D

    xoxo
    Kathleen

Trackbacks

  1. Salmon with Avocado Sauce « Birds and Baking

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 103 other followers

