Skip to content

Must Eat Avocado

February 18, 2011

As I live alone, I have a problem. I tend to buy produce in bulk when it is a good deal, and then I have to eat an entire 5-lb bag of beets, or jumbo container of organic baby spinach, all by myself.   A friend at the farmers’ market gave me a spaghetti squash last week, her smallest one, but it is still big enough I am a little afraid of cooking it and then having to consume it all.

I always buy my avocados in bags of 5 and I am currently going through an avocado phase.  So today I am going to share a couple of the ways I’ve eaten it recently.

Potato Tacos

(Dairy-free and vegan, if you make the tortillas with shortening)

I followed the taco filling recipe found here, and although I have made a dressing based off the recipe the previous time I made them (and the dressing was good), the plan this time was to use up avocado.  So instead I mashed up an avocado with salt, lemon juice, and garlic, and threw on some cilantro.  I know you’re thinking “Potatoes?  In tacos?” but they are good.  The potato mixture would also be good as a side dish.

The tortillas are homemade, using this recipe (but I use butter instead of lard.) I scale the recipe to 6 servings but divide the dough into 4 or 5 portions.  It is important that your frying pan is very hot before you add the tortilla, and that you don’t roll them too thin– failing in either of these results in over-crisp tortillas.  Also, if you have a cat, don’t leave your dough balls unattended or he’ll jump on the table and try to eat them.   I have found you can make tortillas in advance and they will still be fairly soft the next day  if you put them into a bag while they are still warm.  Making them is fun and they are so much cheaper (and lack all the weird additives) of store-bought.

Quinoa Salad

(Gluten-free, dairy-free, vegan)

3/4 cup quinoa, rinsed (to remove the saponin)

1 1/2 tsp oil

1/2 red bell pepper, diced

1/2 cup corn

1-2 Roma tomatoes, diced

1 clove garlic, minced

1/2 tsp ground cumin

1/2 tsp ground coriander

1/4 tsp chili powder

1 avocado, peeled, pitted, and diced

salt

juice of 1/2 lime

1/4 cup chopped cilantro

Add 1 1/2 cups water to a small saucepan and bring to a boil.  Add quinoa, cover, reduce heat, and simmer for 15 minutes, or until all water is absorbed.   Remove lid, stir, and let cool slightly.

In a medium frying pan, heat oil.  Add red pepper,  corn, tomato, and garlic.  Sprinkle with cumin, coriander, and chili powder.  Cook until vegetables are heated through and slightly softened.  Place avocado in a medium bowl, sprinkle with salt and squeeze lime juice over it.  Add the contents of the frying pan, then the quinoa and cilantro.  Mix gently.  Taste and add additional lime juice, salt, and/or spices if desired.  Serve warm or cold.  This probably could serve 3 or 4 people as a side dish.  As I said before, I like leftovers.

I ate it with some salmon (which I slathered in more avocado after I took the photo) and pathetic-looking steamed spinach (the last of a giant container of spinach.)

“Your blog is so boring.  Talk more about me.  Look– I have very long arms!”

What do you do with avocado?

I’ve made the photos bigger– is that an improvement?

10 Comments leave one →
  1. February 19, 2011 7:38 am

    That quinoa dish looks awesome, Jillian! I was eating a polenta stew yesterday with similar flavors wishing fro avocado, but was too lazy to get to the store.

    I’ve used avocado in baking – you can replace the butter or fat with it without noticing the taste. You can also freeze them in chunks and they make good additions to smoothies. You can also make big batches of guac and freeze them. I’m all about buying in bulk and freezing, obviously.

    • February 19, 2011 5:46 pm

      Yeah, it is awesome. I also make a version with black beans and chicken instead of the avocado (but it should be in addition to the avocado!) I should experiment with using avocado in baking… I think I am more adventurous with doing “crazy” things while cooking but more traditional when baking.

  2. Jennie Frances permalink
    February 28, 2011 8:28 am

    The quinoa looks good – forget the cilantro though :)
    Chais long arms add to the blog – cute chai. <3

  3. Jennie Frances permalink
    February 28, 2011 8:30 am

    Forgot – glad to see you are eating potatoes :)

  4. Pamela permalink
    February 28, 2011 11:26 am

    Chai is right, glad you put the cute photo of him on there.

    You know you can freeze any of those veggies – the spaghetti squash and spinach – in individual sized portions for later right? Then you wouldn’t have to eat so much of it at once. Just blanch and freeze in freezer bags. Those large bags of spinach are too much for even us to eat all at once.

    • February 28, 2011 7:56 pm

      I read online that freezing spaghetti squash makes the texture yucky.

      • Pamela permalink
        March 1, 2011 10:11 am

        Hello again,

        I’ll just say here that I have never tried freezing spaghetti squash, just zucchini. You could freeze a tiny bit of the spaghetti squash and see what happens.

        The larger photos are much nicer.

        Rick uses avocado on sandwiches instead of mayonnaise. Just put it in a bowl and mash it up before spreading on your sandwich.

Trackbacks

  1. Guacamole « Birds and Baking
  2. Fame and Fortune « Birds and Baking
  3. Grilled Portobello Wrap « Birds and Baking

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 104 other followers

