Skip to content

A New Blog & Valentine’s Baking

February 14, 2011

Here I am, starting another blog, when I don’t even keep my first one updated as frequently as I originally planned!  I’m not abandoning Becoming Mindful, I still have big plans for that blog.  However, each post requires a fair amount of research, and I don’t seem to be able to focus as much on that as I would like to.

Perhaps it’s not the best idea to start another one…  but I like taking pictures and talking about stuff, and Facebook isn’t always the best platform for that.  So this blog is mostly for me, to share with friends and family.  I’m not targeting an audience… this likely will be a lot about food, my cat, nature, and anything else I feel like sharing.

So to start off I have some photos of the baking I made on the weekend, for the SPCA bake sale.  (The SPCA is an animal shelter, for those unfamiliar with the term.)

I made a dozen chocolate cupcakes with vanilla buttercream

Just after Christmas I bought a Wilton 1M tip and I love being able to make fancy swirls with it

I’m not a big fan of food dyes but I can’t resist making pretty icing colours.  The white is my favourite buttercream recipe, and the pink is this recipe I tried for the first time, made to fill these:

Chocolate shortbread, made using this recipe– although it has eggs in it.  I didn’t think shortbread has eggs.  But then again, having chocolate isn’t authentic either!

I bought a scrapbook paper of cute valentines, intending on sending them out…  but never did.  I had fun using them for my photographs.  Perhaps this is a sneak peek of one you might get next year!

I also made a couple dozen chocolate chip cookies commissioned by a woman a work.  Hmm… perhaps my baking business has begun!

Bakefests are those things that sound like a good idea at the time, but turn out to be a lot of work.  The pile of dishes was enormous.

Here’s my special Valentine

10 Comments leave one →
  1. February 14, 2011 9:26 pm

    Awww, your kitty is SO ADORABLE!!!! My kitty-cat is definitely my Valentine too! :D

    Your pictures are gorgeous!!!! :D They look SO delicious! :)

    • February 15, 2011 7:03 pm

      Thanks so much! I was very pleased that my pictures worked out– I am still learning how to take good food photos!

  2. February 14, 2011 9:27 pm

    Congrats on your new blog! :D

  3. Jennie Frances permalink
    February 15, 2011 7:24 am

    Seems like a good idea to me – now we can read more of what you are doing – probably Chai too. One of my special Valentines broke the lovely leaf coral Pam gave me last year!!! She wasn’t too special after that!!

  4. February 15, 2011 8:42 pm

    A Jillian baking blog?!? With birds?!? Be still my heart.

    My mouth literally salivated at that cookie photo.

    • February 15, 2011 9:18 pm

      Thanks! Hopefully it lives up to your expectations. ;)

  5. February 16, 2011 5:12 pm

    The heart cookies are cool. Did you come up with the cutout idea yourself?

Trackbacks

  1. Coconut Macaroons « Birds and Baking

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 103 other followers

